Feeding the Kindle

Dear gods, I need to stop buying books for my Kindle.

No...not that Andy Williams....

Turns out Andy Williams knows a ton about search engine optimization…

Over the last month I have purchased Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis, Evolutionary Witchcraft by T. Thorn Coyle,  Guards! Guards! by Terry Prattchet, Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman, SEO 2013 & Beyond by Andy Williams, Fifty Years in the Feri Tradition by Cora Anderson, Honoring Sigyn by Galina Krasskova, and The Culture of the Teutons by Vilhelm Gronbech.  I am alternating, in more or less an active fashion, four of them.  I have actually finished one.

I might have a problem.

Truth be told, that’s really more bragging then complaint or cry for help.  I really do love my e-reader.  It’s been getting pretty consistently fed, and I’m planning on feeding it more still.  Aside of that horde I mentioned I have twice as many

Magic: because having fun should be fucking complicated

Magic: because having fun should be fucking complicated

books I’ve already purchased, two PDFs with some of Sis’s stories…and probably her thesis once I remember to download it, the complete rules for Magic the Gathering, a copy of  a tender and sweet promise the lady pet and I have made to each other, some of Mark Stinson’s work, and a dictionary.  This device, for all that, weighs in at less then a pound.

I have heard some complaints about the fall of libraries, and that’s a pretty legitimate concearn; I’m not really fond ot if either.  However it’s hard to argue with the perks.  I have approximately 1,450 pages of Pratchett with me, and I can make that number double pretty damn easily.  I can reference Plato’s Republic, Machiavelli’s The Prince,  and Sun Tzu’s Art of War.  I can keep doing this as long as I remember to charge the battery once a century and as long as we’re not currently victims of an EMP pulse.

I’ve heard grumbling from bibliophiles that e-readers are no replacement for libraries…and while I

See, now if the local library had been more like this...

See, now if the local library had been more like this…

get their point, I wonder if they’re not missing a different one.  I never really was engaged by any of my local public libraries; they were filled with stuff I didn’t care about.  I grew up in subrubia, and the library wasn’t filled with treasures; it was filled with books that I could have gone to any bookstore and picked up for (in most case) five bucks.  I’m sure people with different tastes or with more established libraries has every reason to fall in love…but that wasn’t my case.

I have gotten from my kindle everything that people say they get from libraries…and my library goes where ever I do.  Growing up, I played games where items like mystical spell books where everywhere.  An ereader isn’t quite a spell book, but the technology feels a lot like magic sometimes.

Leave a Reply

