Patreon and Me

Olaus Magnus Historia om de nordiska folkenSo, I already alluded to my efforts involved with finding some way to turn my theological writing into a paying career.  Today starts my first attempt at that with my own account on Patreon.

My only complaint with Patreon is that I didn’t think of it first.  It’s sort of like the logical opposite of crowd funding, in that  services like KickStarter allow people to donate money to big, fuck off projects in order to get the results.  Patreon isn’t about the big projects; it’s about masses of awesome but tiny projects.  It’s about giving people the means to create amazing or wonderful things, so that they can put them in front of the people that enjoy them.  I found out about it’s existance via watching the nerd-tacular talent that is Smooth McGroove, and I immediately started wondering if this was something that could work for me.

A work related injury has me currently asking big questions of “what do I do next”, and I’d like to find a way to help support my family economically and watch my daughters grow up at the same time.  I want to do something I can be proud of every day, not simply something I can do well enough to be satisfied.  While I’m at it, I’d like to be able to show my kids that they can make a living on their own terms, provided they’re willing to do some hard work and never give up.  I want to try and make  an honest living writing about religious praxis as a polytheist, the beauty of philosophy, and about the Gods I worship.

So when I found Patreon , I was extremely excited.

Patreon works by giving content creators a platform to get support from the people that enjoy the things they do and create.  These pledges grant the creator a donation every time they create or do whatever it is they create or do.  In my case, I’m asking for support for each week (starting Monday 12:00amm and ending at Sunday 11:59pm) that I produce two piece of content or more.  Why say “content” instead of saying “blog post”?  Well, because I’m going to be expanding.  I have some ideas about doing YouTube videos, taking the forms of DIYs, readings from the lore, and publicly posting devotional work.  I want a platform to be out there that shows the beauty of spirituality, without the negative  baggage that most Western perspectives come with.

Don't worry; this is the closest I'm ever going to get to traditional Monetization.

Don’t worry; this is the closest I’m ever going to get to Monetization.

This is not a pay gate; everything I ever produce on the internet is free and will remain that way.  It will always be free.  I’m never going to make my words hide behind the almighty dollar, and insist that I be payed before you get a chance to see the work I produce.  If you want to help me along with that dollar, I’ll probably be able to write more words…and that would be awesome!   What you will never see, however, is a subscription wall between you and my work.

Please take a look at my Patreon page.  If you’d like to support the work I do here but cannot contribute financially, consider posting  this blog post on Facebook, re-blogging it on your own blog, or otherwise giving it a bit of social media oomph.  At this moment, I will be posting this to my own, personal, Facebook wall and to my tumblr and that’s it.  I’m not going to be trying to shove this down someone’s throat.  If you’d support what I’m trying to do here?  Tell your friends.  If you have any questions, please post them in the comments below.

Thank for your time, and wish me luck!  I have the feeling that this is going to be a bumpy ride!

Leave a Reply

