I have a face, and Vice.com has an article.

I’ll leave it to you to decide which one is the bigger mess.

Self deprecating humor aside, a Vlog has been something I’ve want to do for quite some time.  I didn’t have some of the right equipment and software however, and my real life has been busy as all get out….so it hadn’t been a high priority for quite some time.

Then Vice.com published an article so hideously poor in quality, that all denominations seem to be in agreement of how absolutely unprofessional the piece is.  The author, Rick Paulus*, has apparently made some really douchey tweets in response to the suggestion that maybe he should have a vague clue about a topic before writing an article about it**.

In short, the whole thing is just a wreck.

The problem is that some of this stuff has happened so fast and so quickly, it may be hard to decipher what’s going on.  So, here is a 15 minute overview that should cover the basics.  I don’t know how often I’ll use this, but it’s certainly possible that it’ll be easier to find time to record video and crop off the garbage then it is for me to sit down and write when my work schedule is what it is.


*He has a twitter…but I don’t want to give him the traffic.  You can Google him if you really want, but you’re not missing much.
**Mr. Paulus is apparently not a regular contributor to Vice.com and is a freelance writer.  Let me say that this makes it difficult to criticize him to a degree…because I’ve done freelance writing and it’s a freaking miserable job.  It sucks, and I’m usually VERY apt to take the author’s side in any sort of matter, because it’s a rough and thankless sort of gig.  So imagine how bad the quality has to be to say that I find it appalling both as a writer and as a Heathen….then realize it’s even worse than that.

2 thoughts on “I have a face, and Vice.com has an article.

  1. The Soldier of Fortune says:

    I have recently read the article on McNallen and White Nationalism. Have you seen this? Someone on Facebook going by the name of Hildolf Eisenwald is accusing Stephen A. McNallen of Plagiarism (much like the open plagiarism of Ron McVan).

    See McNallens article, What is the Path of Odin: http://www.stephenamcnallen.com/blog/what-is-the-path-of-odin

    And then read Hildolfs article, What is an Odian: http://www.oocities.org/hildolf/Odian.html

    The comments by Hildolf on McNallens unrelated post on Facebook have now been deleted. But you can view then here:

    1

    2

    3

    • Forgive the time it too to approve your comment and reply; I have a busy work schedule.

      I…hadn’t seen that. Hard to know what I make of it, to be certain. It does look as if McNallen’s work was heavily inspired by Hildolf’s, though I am to understand the definition of Plagerism usually involves entire phrases, sentences, and even whole paragraphs word for word. Comparing McNallen versus Hildolf, that doesn’t seem to be the case. McNallen’s appears to be a heavy condensement of the same ideas and concepts that Hildolf was talking about.

      Not saying that I think it’s impossible; I’ve heard a lot of anecdotes about various Pagan authors/spiritualists just ripping off the work of others and presenting it as their own…and that’s extremely distasteful. Even what is here sort of puts a bad taste in my mouth, as the two pieces of work cover some very similar points; it makes me uncomfortable, both as a writer and a Heathen. I’ll admit a certain desire for distance here, simply because Odinists often go into some very bigoted places with their beliefs systems…and I want no part of that.

      In either case, thanks for pointing this out to me; I’ll keep an ear out for similar material in the future.

Leave a Reply

